Penny, A Bookart

Some years ago, a friend of mine gave me two very grungy antique photo albums, saying “Maybe you’ll have some use some them”. Hum…

I kept this one on a shelf in my studio and thought some time about what I could use it for. I knew I had to leave the cover alone. So beautiful. She reminded me of a short story I’d been working on, a kind of grungy “coming-of-age” story. The penny dropped…

Penny. It took over a year to finish. But it all came together, faster and faster and finally, I had a decorated story. My new term for a not-quite-an-illustrated story. 28 pages, which I’ll post over time. I’ve opened a Category called Penny, and sorted all my other posts in their own titles.

The pages were very brittle and stained with age, and the photos had been ripped out, with no thought to saving the frames. I refurbished them using methyl cellulose glue and collage. I found some good buff-coloured paper to print the story on, and had to fuss a lot with making them fit the square. To be con’t…

2 Responses to “Penny, A Bookart”

  1. dryadart Says:

    got to love a recycled book!

  2. cjulian01 Says:

    I love this! A decorated book . . . I’ll look forward to sequel posts.

Leave a Reply

