Penny, a bookart, pages 5 to 8

The Next Installment

Penny, pages 5 and 6. During the process of creating Penny, I tried to notice how I looked at picture books. Sometimes I only wanted to look at interesting pictures, and other times I wanted to read the story and not get too distracted by the visual images. I tried to get that here too, balancing the texts and the images.

Penny, pages 7 and 8.

4 Responses to “Penny, a bookart, pages 5 to 8”

  1. cjulian01 Says:

    It’s hard to express how intriguing I find what you are creating here. It gives me chills and a big smile, engaging my imagination. I find that viewing the art work and the story have to be done separately and then blended in my mind. The visual seems to enhance my enjoyment of the story. Keep it coming!

  2. magicinthewoods Says:

    Thank you so much for your encouragement. Yes, I’ll keep more pages coming. What you wrote is exactly what I was working towards. I wasn’t trying to illustrate the story. In fact I deliberately avoided the urge to do so. But I was hoping that the visuals and the texts would, in your words, “blend in (the reader’s) mind.”

  3. JoAnn Anderson Says:

    Beautiful work! I’ve been simply loosing myself it in. So many interesting and creative details.

Leave a Reply

