Saint-Cirq-Lapopie, a collage

16″ x 20″, paper, dessicated leaves, acrylic paints and mediums

Many years ago, we visited the south of France, a castle and river tour. We rented a little Popeye boat (so I called it) and went down the windy Lot river. It had been the main trade route until they carved out the canal, and there’s a tow path where donkeys still pull small barges. These gorgeous tiny villages popped up each time we turned a corner, many of them high up on rocky hills. I’m still using the photos and sketches from that time, although on the boat I was able to work on a funky travel journal in the misty mornings, just before the boulangerie would open and I’d bike down fast before they ran out of fresh warm baguettes. They never ran out of wine.

5 Responses to “Saint-Cirq-Lapopie, a collage”

  1. pisstkitty Says:

    that’s amazing the way you’ve built everything up out of all the different bits. And the paper pattern in the background makes me smile. It really evokes a sense of place.

  2. cjulian01 Says:

    This is an amazingly rich textured piece. I love it! The memory you’ve shared of your trip and the fact that this rich visual experience is still feeding your art both make me smile.

  3. betinaj Says:

    Greetings!

    Thank you for checking out my blog and my recent post “Spring Forward”. I so enjoyed your blog. Your work is fabulous. I am still getting myself adjusted to this new world of blogging. I appreciate the visit! Keep creating your wonderful art!

    Betina J.

    • magicinthewoods Says:

      Thank you! I’ve only been blogging seriously since January, and it’s a wonderful community.

Leave a Reply

