Plein Air

I’ve been super busy this last while and haven’t been able to post. But it was all worth it. I organized the Plein Air Club again, for the 18th year. Every Tuesday from May to September, we go out to paint, somewhere in the greater Montreal area. We can be anywhere from 5 to 50 artists, working in all different media, in a very joyful, relaxed and creative mood.

Over that time, I’ve worked in various media, from pastels to watercolor, acrylics (above), and palette knife oils (below), which allowed me to paint without toxic solvents.

I went back to this little alley and it’s no longer there! There’s only a flat brick wall, and even the poor tree is gone.

Then I began to get more into the bookarts and saw themes to collect and sort and assemble in books, with texts and collage elements.

Usually we are able to finish a painting on site, but sometimes I had to work from photographs (as in this view from my kayak).

And then sometimes it was too long to wait til next Tuesday rolled around again and I had to work from imagination.

If anyone is in the area this summer and want to come join us, you’re absolutely welcome.

18 Responses to “Plein Air”

  1. apaperbear Says:

    These are lovely.

  2. artsynaturenut Says:

    You are quite talented in a variety of medias. Love your approach especially the palette knife oils.

  3. betinaj Says:

    I enjoyed seeing more of your art, simply beautiful. You are dedicated to your art as 18 years is pretty impressive! Thank you for once again sharing.

  4. cjulian01 Says:

    Oh, how I wish I lived in Montreal! This sounds delightful . . . good of you and for you to organize it. I like how you gave a glimpse of how your art making has grown and changed over time. I think about that sometimes. Maybe the subject of a new book?

    • magicinthewoods Says:

      Yes, I find the art has changed over time, and not only technical skills. At first I was just trying to get it “right”, then I was striving for “show worthy”. But I wanted more meaning and authenticity. Yet there was another change after that, and it was a desire to connect with the life world. And that’s where Plein Air is so vital for me.

  5. pevaeva Says:

    Lovely works! The last one is absolutely gorgeous. Must be fun to paint outdoors, I should try that sometimes myself as well.

  6. kellygrahamartist Says:

    Just gorgeous, so beautiful!!

  7. juliamonroe Says:

    Your work is stunning. The Plein Air group sounds wonderful. I like what you said about connecting with the live world for meaning and authenticity. It shows in your paintings.

  8. Sandy Coleman Says:

    What lovely pieces with great detail and mood. I feel like I’m there.

    • magicinthewoods Says:

      Thanks, Sandy. It’s odd too how often I’ve been in shows and people have spotted the paintings that were done in plein air. Other artists tell me the same thing.

  9. elenacaravela Says:

    I’ve just taken a break from my 2012 Sketchbook for the Sketchbook Project, and found your beautiful sketchbook! I’ve inspired to go back to work:)

Leave a Reply

