Cookie Box Art

Somebody criticized this work as being too “cookie box”. A nasty comment that hurt me to the core for some reason. It suddenly seemed “too cute” or frivolous and I never showed it in public. I shouldn’t have been so sensitive, I suppose. But artists are thin skinned about their work.
Meanwhile I starting noticing cookie boxes …. hum… there’s Van Gogh’s Starry Night on this one, and Renoirs show up quite regularly. Perhaps Munsch’s Screamer might turn you off what’s in the box, but a Picasso might add an interesting sales feature. I shouldn’t have felt so bad.
A good lesson learned. Never listen to negative comments if they don’t serve. Any thoughts?

10 Responses to “Cookie Box Art”

  1. pisstkitty Says:

    It has a fairytale romantic air….would be lovely on a box with beautiful fancy cookies!
    : )

  2. isobelhigley Says:

    They must be pretty tasty cookies to have this on the front.

  3. Year of Living Craftily Says:

    Excellent post, and I agree with you wholeheartedly 🙂

  4. kittyisnotamused Says:

    I think its a beautiful painting!

  5. John Says:

    I for one would cherish a “cookie” box like this one. I absolutely love how you marry collage and paint. I looked at each page of your blog all the way to the kitchen cupboards. WOW! I feel as if I have been on a vacation for my eyes. Truly splendid!

  6. elenacaravela Says:

    I like it!

Leave a Reply

