Cavelight

 

june72013 040

As an art journaler, I’m not very confident with using texts in a painting. Artists have traditionally shunned writing in paintings except in modern graphic applications. Any text seems to shout out advertising.

    But I love to see how others are using it so beautifully in art journaling. So I’m trying. There don’t seem to be any rules to this new art, such as less than 50% of the surface, or “obscured to the point of illegibility”. Nor has it been around long enough to have developed any conventions.

     What I have noticed is my own habits and how I look at art. Beautiful art books – sorry, I totally ignore the written word, and just look at the pictures. Important news headlines? I get distracted and irritated by a photo as my slow computer scrolls down to the text part. Yet with good art journaling, I see the text and the image at the same time. I’ve even looked at  pages almost completely covered in script and seen only a beautiful image. How do they do that?

So I’m trying.

2 Responses to “Cavelight”

  1. Casey Says:

    I like this. I really like the handwriting style you chose. It’s really pretty and fitting for the piece.

    I can’t speak for other art journalers, but since I’ve been spent much more time being a writer (and wanna be poet) than an artist (and I use that term loosely here, knowing I really am just playing in art for now), it appeals to me to incorporate text.

    I use art journaling as a way to slow down my thinking process (I’ve been very much an hyper-analytical over-thinker) and focus on only the messages I feel are really important to me. It’s a conversation with my highest self. I simply use the medium to record the messages. I’m more likely to save them this way. Now that I’ve discovered I really enjoy it, I don’t ever want to go back to normal journaling, which I only did kind of erractically anyway.

    Sometimes these messages are my own thoughts, sometimes they are inspirational quotes or song fragments that come to me. I don’t plan on ever selling my art journaling pages, since they are deeply personal.

    I’ve seen many individuals use art journaling for practicing new techniques and also for healing purposes. There are some art journalers whose works are more simply for whimsical expressions.

    I think some of mine aren’t very good, but I also know that the outcome isn’t the point…it’s the process of experimentation. For many new to making art, like I am, art journaling is a nice, safe practice run.

    I keep toying with the idea of taking a real art class or two. What holds me back is fear of not being good enough and having anxiety that might make me freeze up and not be able to finish. Which is strange because I have no problems getting up and talking to a bunch of strangers about biotehcnology (the field I used to work in) but I would probably want to cry if I felt I was making art that looked dumb.

    As far as beautiful art books goes? I have a couple where they combine the works of art with letters the artists have written. I have one of Van Gogh like this and one of Monet. It’s really neat to see what was going on in their minds at the time they painted a certain painting. But then again, I’m also a bit of a biography and history buff too.

    • magicinthewoods Says:

      Thanks so much for your comments, Casey! I agree with all you wrote. Except to say, don’t be anxious about art classes. I love workshops, they are so inspiring and fun. Most people don’t produce a great finished work anyway. They are there to explore, to try something different from their usual style, and are therefore, never expected to “get it right” (which is a wrong term to use in art anyhow). As you said, art is a process of experimentation.

Leave a Reply

