Welcome Home

DSCN0755

After 19 years of plein air painting once a week through summer, I guess I have landscapes in my artist’s vision. This collage started out as a pure abstract, but no sooner did I put it at arm’s length from me then I saw a landscape. I added just a few lines in the lake in the background and bit of “tweaking” on the tree. Now I see those foreground shapes as a young girl with arms outstretched to a larger woman, dressed similarly, coming out of a house, saying “welcome home”. And no matter how far I venture out into abstracts, I always end up back home, in landscapes.

Leave a Reply

