Calypso’ Island House

DSCN0855

Of all the beautiful people in Pirates of the Caribbean, I picked the witch. Iā€™m not the bold adventurer type. It all makes me sea sick. I like the gentle shadow life, the sacred grove deep in the wood. I savoured the river scene, winding around mysterious bends, quietly paddling long sticks, disentangling dense flowering vines. I felt no danger. Calypso rules here.Ā  I love her enchanted house up in the trees, crowded with magical herbs and symbols, candles and hearth fires, bells and wind chimes, and cowrie shells.

And she gets to keep the cute monkey.

7 Responses to “Calypso’ Island House”

  1. artsynaturenut Says:

    I love how the house reads as a house even tho the house shapes are made from papers that are “non house”. Does that make sense? I enlarged the picture so I could see all the wonderful detail. I never did find the monkey, tho šŸ˜‰

    • magicinthewoods Says:

      Thanks! The monkey is not in the painting. It’s referring to the scene in Pirates when Jack Sparrow (Johnny Depp) left her the “undead monkey”.

  2. elteee Says:

    Oh, this is such an interesting piece! It’s like finding hidden treasure; very fitting considering it has pirate connections. šŸ˜‰

  3. lesliepaints Says:

    Excellent! Tantalizing!

  4. Patricia Lacroix Says:

    That was an awesome scene ;)) You’ve captured the essence of her place nicely. It looks almost 3D!

Leave a Reply

