Baie D’Urfe town hall

 

DSCN1074

Vacations are over, and only 3 plein air sessions left. Summer is going too fast!

One mistake I made on this painting was placing a strong tree dead centre in the painting. I toned it down and made changes here and there, but it’s still “about the tree” and not the structure in the background. It also creates two paintings. I could paint right over it, but I’ve decided to wait. Since it is part of a bookart, there will be a page to the left or right of it and that could make the “problem disappear”.

4 Responses to “Baie D’Urfe town hall”

  1. geoff Says:

    Cropping is a photographers best tool. works with paintings too I think

  2. lesliepaints Says:

    Reminds me of a “Secret Garden” with the use of dark colors that create a mystery around the almost hidden structure to the upper right quadrant. Rules can be broken to achieve an effect and that is what the strong tree trunk, dead center, does for me. It plants my feet in the garden wondering what that structure might be. Nice painting.

  3. In Art Therapy Says:

    I really like it the way it is and agree that it does leave you wondering about the structure.

Leave a Reply

