Pathwords: Bon Courage

bon courage 001

As a bilingual Anglophone in Quebec, there are words I use in either language that just don’t translate in the same spirit or intention. It isn’t unusual, therefore, for us to drop a French word or term in the middle of an English conversation, knowing the other person will catch the meaning immediately. “Bon Courage” is one of those words. I’ll use it when wishing good for someone going through an ordeal – an exam, a move, a confrontation, a medical procedure, even a bereavement. It’s more than luck, since it isn’t luck that will get you through the ordeal but your own inner reserves of courage, heart, stamina, and the work you have put into it. And when it is said to me, I go off feeling encouraged , knowing I have friends at my back, sending me good vibes.

Tags: , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Pathwords: Bon Courage”

  1. lesliepaints Says:

    Wow! This seems very spiritual to me.

  2. crychydd Says:

    That figure emerging from the denseness of colour in the background is very effective.

    Your comment on words is familiar – I find the same thing happens here in bilingual Wales.

    • magicinthewoods Says:

      Thank you. Wales! How interesting. I am intending to explore a Welsh word, Awen, in fact. Thanks for the follow.

Leave a Reply

