Pathwords – DEPAYSEMENT

 

pathwords - depaysement 001

Though  I could use the word “homesick”, dépaysement has a richer meaning. In French, it is technically used for “out of one’s country”.  But in an emotional context, it goes deeper.  In fact, sometimes it’s good news. It’s that feeling of being far away from home, butterflies in the tummy, too strange. Sometimes when I travel I get a sick feeling, wishing I was back home in my cozy little house again. Yet sometimes, I’ve been very far from home and felt perfectly at home. Castles in the south of France – yes, I’m sure I’ve been here in a past life. My first time in New York City  I knew my way around. Sometimes the very strangeness of a place thrills me. Yet sometimes, strangeness throws me into a feeling of despair, as if bits of myself have faded away, and I can’t breathe, can’t ground.

I like that there is a word for this, at least in another language. It means I’m not crazy, that this is a shared human experience.

5 Responses to “Pathwords – DEPAYSEMENT”

  1. elmediat Says:

    Great post. Beautiful atmospheric composition. Effective use of colour to convey mood & setting. 🙂

  2. debiriley Says:

    mystical magical evocative. dreamscape like atmosphere. lovely colours, tones, design 🙂

  3. lesliepaints Says:

    Your painting is a perfect illustration for this word, magicinthewoods. I really like this project of words.

  4. magicinthewoods Says:

    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

