Cascades

Great Shari! Today, at Plein Air. A beautiful day. I painted an ornamental arch built over the bridge, will post soon as I get my scanner going again.

The Sketchbook

There’s a group of plein air painters that meets every Tuesday in the summer at different scenic spots around Montreal. They’ve been doing this for over 20 years and I hope to join them as often as I can this summer. Today’s meeting spot was Parc des Ancres at Pointe des Cascades in Vaudreuil— literally a park filled with over 100 old anchors and maritime artifacts from the abandoned Soulanges Canal. I was in the mood to paint water so I found a good viewing spot and tackled the derelict lock and the water seeping through it. I don’t think I’ve ever painted falling water so this was lots of fun. These outings are open to all so if you are interested in dates and locations send me an email and I’ll send you the list. Painted on a quarter sheet of Arches paper.

Cascades

View original post

2 Responses to “Cascades”

  1. elenacaravela Says:

    A wonderful painting.

  2. lesliepaints Says:

    Excellent! I like how some reddish browns are on either side of the falls and the greens hold all that in. The blueish-green of the water pulls my eye right back to the falls again.

Leave a Reply

